Lunch: Easy Salmon With Veggies

For this weeks “Weight-loss Wednesday” I wanted to share with you one of my favorite recipes ever. I love this recipe for days when I don’t feel like eating leftovers or prepped meals. It’s really easy to make it for just one person and at the end you are left with zero dirty dishes (except for the plate ๐Ÿ™‚ ).

What you need?

For one person

  • salmon fillet (as big or small as you like)
  • veggies (this time I made it with asparagus; I’ve tried it with potatoes and with green beans before)
  • olive oil
  • spices (depends on the veggies and what you like; I chose thyme and basil)
  • baking tray
  • parchment (baking) paper

How it’s done

If you want zero dirty dishes, I recommend you line your baking trey with some alu-foil. Put the baking paper on the trey.

First you’ll make a layer of veggies. I chose asparagus, so there was no more preparation needed. With potatoes I recommend you slice them into chips, for example. Put the veggies on your baking paper (don’t put it into the center; keep in mind you’ll have to close the paper). Drizzle the veggies with about a tablespoon of olive oil and spices and mix it up.

IMAG0441

Put your salmon on the veggies, skin down. Drizzle with a tiny bit of oil (about a teaspoon) and add spices.

IMAG0444

Close the baking paper by folding it together and closing the edges. I just fold the baking paper over the food and then fold the edges down. It won’t be air tight, it doesn’t need to be. But it will be closed enough to keep all the juices inside.

IMAG0446

Put in a preheated oven. Bake at 180ยฐC for 20 minutes. The salmon is actually more cooked than baked. If you prefer to have a crunchy salmon, open the pocket for last 5 ย minutes of baking.

IMAG0453

This is actually the only way I know how to make a salmon perfectly, so that it’s not raw inside and burned outside. ๐Ÿ™‚ If you are making it for more people, I would consider making separate pockets instead of making one huge pocket. And that would also allow you to choose different veggies for different people.

Choose your spices according to the veggies you choose. Thyme and basil work fine with all that I’ve tried. You can also add a few slices of lemon on top of the fillet. It adds a nice sour surprise. ๐Ÿ™‚

Also my baby loves it! ๐Ÿ™‚ He’s been eating it since he was like 7 months old. I just chop it up and make sure there are no bones left in the fish.

IMAG0455_1

Baby lunch: Salmon with veggies and some polenta and veggies patties

Hope you enjoy it! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

